First Feeding of Real Food

09/25/2010 14:53

Just thought I would make a note to mention that the puppies were given their first meal of "real" food today. That is, real food that was heavily diluted with milk replacer (formula), warm water, and ground up in the blender. They did really well with it, actually impressively well. Puppies usually need to be taught to eat "puppy mush" and prefer to walk around in it and experiment with it first. These guys dove right in and started eating like they knew what was up. I don't think a single paw made it into the mush. They finished over half of  what I made (mom took care of the rest), and a few still nursed afterwards. There was almost no mess aside from what was on their faces. I took a few photos but will have to sort them and upload later. I think we have seven smart little puppies, at least when it comes to food!